Scientist of the Year Award from Korea Science Journalists Association

Axel Timmermann, Director of IBS Center for Climate Physics (ICCP) at Pusan National University (PNU), received the ‘Scientist of the Year’ award from the Korea Science Journalists Association. This award is bestowed upon scientists in recognition of their scientific excellence and their contributions to the development of science in Korea.

The award ceremony took place during the “2018 Science Journalists’ Night” on 29 November at the Four Seasons Hotel in Seoul.

“Receiving this award means a lot to me because it recognizes not only my scientific accomplishments but also my efforts to communicate climate science to the general public.” Axel Timmermann said. “May this award be a symbolic starting point for a fruitful long-term collaboration between climate scientists and the science journalist community in South Korea.”

To foster the interaction between science journalists and climate scientists, ICCP will organize a training workshop for science journalists in 2019 with the title “Climate change, sea level rise and ocean acidification – what do we really know”.